TGI(blog it)F(orward)

…to put it simply, TGIF: Blog It Forward Edition.

‘Tis the season for gift giving and gift getting and splurging a little on things that sparkle. But let’s not forget, ’tis also the season to give back to those who need it most, whether it’s your bff or a stranger in the Dunkin’ line. Today I’m challenging you to spread the #FriYAY joy, any way that you can think of…BEACUSE my friends Elizabeth and Alex have challenged me to #BlogItForward.

This month, Wayfair will donate $50 to Habitat for Humanity for every blog that proudly displays the official #BlogItForward badge (look right!).

Get Inspired. Spread Kindness. Make a difference. {you can read more & grab a badge for your blog here}

Need some ideas for nice stuff to do that will no doubt make people smile?

How To Change The World and also, 20 Things We Should Say More Often should do the trick.

Anyway, here’s what I’m doing to spread holiday cheer…I wish it was something grand and extraordinary, but really, it’s quite simple.

I’m listing to JB’s Under The Mistletoe album during my morning commute, at full volume without head phones. You’re welcome, everyone on the Green line.

This month and beyond, I’m making a conscious effort to say “hello” and “thank you” each and every time I board or depart an MBTA train.

For those unfamiliar, the Boston public transportation system gets a LOT of flack, and (sometimes) rightfully so. The MBTA had a pretty rough winter (but didn’t we all?) and it’s about 1,000 years old with little to zero updates since it’s original creation. It’s far from speedy and, I mean, just look at this map…

map

It’s very confusing (at least I think so) and may not always be timely, but it also gets me where I need to go on a daily basis and for that, I’m very thankful.

Side Note: I’m not very timely ever, so who am I to judge punctuality??

So let’s be sure to remember that each and every train is operated by real people with real lives and real stories and real good days and real bad days, even when you’re cold and it’s raining and T just doesn’t seem to be coming…ever…all of that is still true.

And this is important because a vast majority of Bostonians, especially “millennials” like myself, relay heavily, if not entirely, on the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority to get from Point A to Point B, or should I say, from The Green Line to The Silver Line.

So I take back what I said earlier. This is pretty simple, that’s true, but I also think it’s pretty grand and maybe even a little extraordinary, purely because of how infrequently it happens. A smile can go a long way and a friendly “good morning” or “thank you” can turn a persons day around; whether that person has been operating a train since 6AM, pouring your coffee, or just passing you by.

Between now and December 31st, I’m challenging my foodie friends Amanda (who’s been busy doing all kinds of good in the restaurant biz. this month), and my dear friend Janelle to #BlogItForward. Write a little ditty about something you did this holiday season to spread joy or give back, stamp the Wayfair badge on it and hit publish. It’s really quite simple.

As for the rest of you, get out there and do something awesome today! You don’t have to write about it, but you can help too.

Happy Friday, friends!

 

2 thoughts on “TGI(blog it)F(orward)

Leave a Reply

