5 Things: Red Carpet Edition

These 5 photos sum up my evening of champagne, oysters and ball gowns at the 19th annual Ellie Fund Red Carpet Gala.

shoes

The evening began just as those who know me well could probably imagine: with a major wardrobe malfunction, of sorts. Is anyone surprised? I sure was when I walked straight into a deceivingly, ankle-deep puddle after exiting the Copley T stop. For those who don’t know what this experience is like, once you’re in, you’re in. It’s truly all or nothing, no turning back now. You’re either in or you’re out and I was in. So I waded my way through the murky waters, poured the puddle from pumps, and hit the red carpet as if  “City Grime” was the next Christian Louboutin.

photo 1 (9)

Amongst some of Boston’s best dressed, again, I’m sure it’s no surprise, that the only bar I really bellied up to was The Island Creek Oyster Bar. I was happy to see I wasn’t the only one out of my element at this event. Scruffy oyster shuck-ers in button-downs and neck ties? Not a good look.

photo 2 (6)

A beautiful venue for an unforgettable evening in honor of The Ellie Fund; an unbelievable non-profit organization that fights breast cancer by easing its effects on patients and families. In doing so, The Ellie Fund provides critical support services, free of charge with help from volunteers, donors, friends and events like this one.  It was a truly humbling and moving experiencing to be, even a small, part of such a big organization.

photo 5 (3)

Following a silent auction and a touching video, we sipped champagne and watched (with heart eyes) Neil Patrick Harris on the big screen (This photo captured while standing in the back, posted up at the Bostonia Public table devouring grits and slow cooked beef. The best meal I’ve had in a very long time.)

photo 3 (5)

All said and done, it was an evening of good drinks, good food (kinda) and great company.

Leave a Reply

