Snow Day Essentials

Screen shot 2015-01-24 at 7.51.11 PM

This morning, I found myself not hitting snooze 3 times, not sipping coffee in bed, not catching up on all the articles stashed in my Pocket app (download it), and not padding around the kitchen in slippers flipping eggs and toasting an english muffin. All of which make up my usual Saturday morning (and Sunday too, if I’m being honest) routine. Today was different. I jumped out of bed at the sight of a beautifully alarming winter wonderland outside my window. Beautiful because we’re a solid two months into winter in New England and there hasn’t yet been nearly enough snow. Alarming because in between non-stop coverage of “Deflate-gate” every news station in Boston was reporting snow fall beginning at 3PM, throwing my Saturday morning plans for a major loop.

First thought that came to mind? Take a guess. “Shit. I have no food.” And the second? Considering last nights dinner of dumplings and lamb shwarma roll-ups (yes, both of those things. Don’t ask), “I NEED to get to the gym.

So I bundled up and headed out, with the terrifying reality of being snowed in with an empty fridge and barren cabinets motivating my every step. I trekked through snow-covered sidewalks, snapped a few pictures along the way (duh), surprisingly enough caught the bus to Chestnut Hill, checked in at The Street, made sure it was still standing and headed across the street to Healthworks to clip-in and gear up. sNOw excuses, am I right??

But the real reason I found myself in a slushy, snow covered Chestnut Hill with no car and a pair of Bean Boots that are about 30 years old, was as you know, food. So I did my thing at HW and headed back to The Street to stock up on a few things at Star Market.

5 essentials no human should ever be without on a Snow Day:

  1. Bacon & Eggs (and coffee and more bacon): In my book bacon and eggs should be consumed every Saturday and Sunday so putting them at number 1 on this list is only right. Slippers, cozy socks and tea fall into this same category.
  2. Peanut Butter & Chocolate: add 1 cup of sugar and 2 eggs and you’ve got Cher-baby’s Peanut Butter Blossoms in 12 minutes or less. Just stick a Hershey Kiss on top and you’re good to go. It’s recipes like these that make my 7AM wake up call for a butt-kicking Turbo Ride well worth it.
  3. Popcorn: wether it’s homestyle, kettle corn, movie theater butter, 100 calorie (I hope not) or stove top, nothing beats a bowl of popcorn while wrapped up in a blanket watching movies.
  4. Franks Red Hot WIng Sauce: buffalo chicken anything tastes incredible no matter when or where you’re eating it. Same thing goes for pizza. Combine the two to make homemade buffalo chicken pizza on a snowy day? aaaah-mazing.
  5. Wine: don’t get snowed in without wine. Simple as that.

A few things that didn’t make the list but are equally as important? A new bottle of Essie, a supply of quarters and dryer sheets, Bayberry Spice scented candles, dark chocolate covered blueberries, and the coziest Patagonia pull-over in all the land. Skip the shower and save the dishes for later and you’re doin’ it just right.

…but you already know all of this.

2 thoughts on “Snow Day Essentials

Leave a Reply

