Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies: an OUaP Original

Not gone are the days of knocking on your neighbors door in hopes that they have just 2 large eggs to spare. Especially (after a few glasses of wine, on a snowy Sunday) when it’s an emergency. So with help from the friendly kiddos upstairs, Lauren cooked dinner and I made dessert, turning this Sunday into one of our most productive yet.

Lately, I’ve been giving a lot of thought to cookbooks. About how beautiful they are and how fun it would be to create one (by “create” I mean, take every photo I’ve ever posted to Instagram of a meal/baked good, take a few more, whip up a page or so of text to accompany each one, slap a cover on the whole thing and call it a “cookbook”). Sounds easy, I know, but apparently you have to come up with your own recipes in order to do this successfully, not just be ridiculously good at searching Pinterest for meals and goodies, copying their every step and creatively (obnoxiously?) Instagramming your results. I struggle to create my own salad in the Sweetgreen line, so I really don’t think this is happening any time soon.

Just in case this crazy dream of mine ever does come true, I’ll continue spending my Sundays in the kitchen and sharing my creations here. That way I’ll be all ready to go..

So, when life your neighbor hands you lemons an egg, the only obvious thing to do next is to make lemonade cookies.

Here’s what I used…

  • 1 1/4 sticks of butter, softened
  • 3/4 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3 cups Old-Fashion Quaker oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

And here’s how I mixed it all up…

Preheat oven to 375. Combine butter and sugars in large bowl, beat until creamy. Add one egg and vanilla extract, mix well. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Add dry mixture to the larger bowl, combine all ingredients. Fold in oats, raisins and chocolate chips.

Scoop rounded dough (about the size of 1Tbs) onto cookie sheet, bake 8-9 minutes for a chewy cookie, 10-11 minutes for a crispier creation.

The recipe I found and followed did not call for chocolate chips, but I threw in the leftovers from last weekends baking endeavor, so I guess that makes this an Once Upon a Plate Original Recipe.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

