Current Cravings

Here’s a little taste of what I’ve been loading up on lately…in moderation, of course…

OystersOYSTAHS! Much to my delight, this month has been all about oysters. From Legal on The Mystic, to B&G Oysters in Boston’s South End, all the way to Welfleet Oysterfest, I’ve been slurpin’ up salty bivalves just about every weekend with new friends and old. Raw oysters, fried oysters, free oysters and Sam Adams Oyster Stout – yes, oyster beer. As a girl who used to lick the sea-salt from her hot pink “tubey-tube” (a long, long time ago), my salt-tooth couldn’t be more satisfied this month.

Honey Bee Tea from my friends at DAVIDsTEA: the most caffeinated blend they’ve got on all 4 shelves lined wall-to-wall with colorful canisters of oolong, roobios, white, black, green, pu’erh, herbal and mate, this blend gives me the energy I need to keep buzzing like a bee. Between booking face-painters for Trick-or-Treat at The Street, and planning private styling events with bloggers and Red Sox wives, I’m loving every second of every day with that iconic teal cup in hand.

CrepesCrepes: Who doesn’t love crepes? Crepes in Boston with your best friend from Philly who you haven’t seen in months? Even better. No explanation necessary here. I live less than a mile from The Paris Creperie, a tiny eatery that whips up nothing but sweet and savory crepes morning, noon and night. It’s as simple as that.

Dip Day. Yes, it was just as awesome as it sounds. On Thursday afternoon before the Patriots played the Jets, WS Development celebrated the big game in the best way possible; with buffalo chicken dip, taco dip, artichoke dip, pizza dip, bean dip,  guacamole, more buffalo chicken dip and more guacamole. For dessert? Pumpkin spice dip, Nutella dip, Greek yogurt and fresh berries dip…you get the idea. Crock pots and endless trays of dip lined an entire wall of break room tables, each accompanied by a recipe card and a bag or two of Tostito’s. “Lunch” lasted 2 hours that day and there was very little talk about Football. As my dad would say, it was a pretty good day at “the rock pile”.

Mom’s Granola: I’m pretGranolaty good with words, but I don’t know if  there are any words suitable for accurately describing this stuff. There’s a jar of it my cabinet, a container in my desk and I wouldn’t be surprised if there was currently a bag of it (ok, maybe 2) in my purse. Whether sprinkled on my breakfast or adding crunch to my desert, I can’t get enough.


What’s on the menu for next month? Thanksgiving sandwiches, a taste of Philly (read: Wawa and Cheesesteaks), hopefully a trip to Grillo’s Pickles in Cambridge, red cups at Starbucks (ok, maybe I’m pushing it…), a new layout, blogger brainstorms, more posts, and more experiments in the kitchen.

PS Notice anything different? Endless thanks & love to Erin DuPont of Rose Door Designs for my very own, very beautiful, customized image! More creative changes to come…

2 thoughts on “Current Cravings

  1. excellent blogpost Annie! I love the new design….. I am going to say I knew you when 🙂
    Beth
    PS Maybe your mom will share her recipe?

Leave a Reply

